Nestling in the rolling hills of Slieve Felim, the twin villages of Upperchurch and Drombane are unique and quaint
They are full of natural rural charm and surrounded by breath-taking scenery. Ride like Ned o’the Hill through rolling fields and see five counties from the peak of the Black Hill. See hurleys being hewn from rain ash grown locally and being lovingly worked by handcraft experts.
As the name of the village suggests, the church building is central to Upperchurch. However, an earlier church, built circa 1800 by the then parish priest, P. James Clancy (1792-1812), was south of the village. The cemetery evolved around that church which was completely demolished in 1928 following the building of the present Romanesque church.
The village predates the Anglesey road from Thurles to Newport, which was built in 1828 under the direction of the celebrated engineer Richard Griffith who is better-known for his Primary Valuation of Lands and Tenements (1851).
Upperchurch is part of the ancestral home of the O’Dwyer and O’Ryan and forms a stage of the Beara-Breifne Way which is based on the historic march of O’Sullivan Beara in 1603.